Old Gates of Kuwait City
In the 18th century, Kuwait city became a target for invaders after its development and increase in population. Therefore, the Kuwaitis wanted to secure their city from dangers by building a wall around it.
The first wall to surround Kuwait city was built in December 1789 under the role of Sheikh Abdullah -the 1st- Al-Sabah (ruled from 1762 to 1813) to extend 1.6 kilometers long around the city with five main gates called Darwazas (darwaza means gate in Persian language).
Twenty years later, many parts of the wall has fallen which encouraged Sheikh Jaber Bin Abdullah (ruled from 1812 to 1859) to build another wall with more space to accommodate the expanded city in 1814 with seven Darwazas. This wall was renovated in 1845.
In the second wall the Kuwaitis made some gaps "notches" to jump over the wall called Matabbas. Those Matabbas made the wall fragile which led Sheikh Salem Al-Mubarak Al-Sabah (the ninth ruler of Kuwait, 1917-1921) to construct the third wall especially after being defeated in the famous Himdh battle in Olayya village (now in Saudi Arabia) back in 1920.
It started from the east coast of the city for about 6.4 kilometers to the end at the west coast, and contained 26 towers and 5 gates. The gates from east to west are Bnaid Al-Gar (Dasman) Gate, Al-Sha'ab (Al-Buray'esi) Gate, Al-Shamiya Gate, Al-Jahra Gate, and Al-Muqassab Gate.
In the 4th of February 1957, The Kuwaiti government decided to demolish the wall in order to expand the city while paving Al-Soor Street (soor means wall in Arabic) in its location and maintaining the gates in their places in roundabouts.