The State Russian Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
The State Russian Museum is the largest depository of Russian fine art in St. Petersburg and one of the biggest in Russia housing 400,000 artworks of the greatest collections of sculpture, objets d'art, drawings and paintings including the famous picture gallery. The museum was established on April 13, 1895, upon enthronement of Nicholas II to commemorate his father, Alexander III. Its original collection was composed of artworks taken from the Hermitage Museum, Alexander Palace, and the Imperial Academy of Arts. After the Russian Revolution of 1917, many private collections were nationalized and relocated to the Russian Museum. These included Kazimir Malevich's Black Square.
The main building of the museum is the Mikhailovsky Palace, a splendid Neoclassical residence of Grand Duke Michael Pavlovich, erected in 1819-1825 to a design by Carlo Rossi on Square of Arts in St. Petersburg. Upon the death of the Grand Duke the residence was named after his wife as the Palace of the Grand Duchess Elena Pavlovna, and became famous for its many theatrical presentations and balls. Some of the halls of the palace retain the Italianate opulent interiors of the former imperial residence. Other buildings assigned to the Russian museum include the Summer Palace of Peter I (1710-1714), the Marble Palace of Count Orlov (1768-1785), St. Michael's Castle of Emperor Paul (1797-1801), and the Rastrelliesque Stroganov Palace on the Nevsky Prospekt (1752-1754).
The exhibits range from ancient icons to the avant-garde school of painting of the 20th century, and include many landmarks in the history of Russian art, such as "The Last Day of Pompeii" by Karl Bruillov, "Reply of the Zaporozhian Cossacks" by Ilya Repin, "Portrait of Murtaza Kuli Khan" by Vladimir Borovikovsky, "The Brazen Serpent" by Fidelio Bruni, "The Ninth Wave" by Ivan Aivazovsky, "Phrine at the Festival of Poseidon at the Eleusinia" by Henryk Siemiradzki, "Christ's Appearance to St. Mary Magdalene" by Alexander Ivanov, "Portrait of Maria Rumyantseva" by Alexey Antropov, "Bogatyr" by Viktor Vasnetsov, and "Portrait of an Unknown Woman in a Violet Dress" by Evgraf Fedorovich Krendovsky.
The Russian Museum of Ethnography
The Ethnographic Department was originally set up in a building specially designed by Vladimir Svinyin in 1902. The museum soon housed gifts received by Emperor's family from representatives of peoples inhabiting various regions of the Russian Empire. Further exhibits were purchased by Nicholas II and other members of his family as State financing was not enough to purchase new exhibits. In 1934, the Ethnographic Department was given the status of an independent museum: the Russian Museum of Ethnography.